Destan, Joanna and Twin Twin are the French candidates for Copenhagen

The French broadcaster, France 3, has today revealed the identity of the three shortlisted acts who will take part in the national final to represent France at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest. The songs will be premiered at the tv show which is scheduled to take place on the 26th of January.

The expert committee composed of fourteen people met yesterday to select the three artists shortlisted to represent France next year in Copenhagen, Denmark and their names have been officially announced today.

Destan is a boyband whose members are Dean, Killian and Quentin. Their average age is twenty years old and the name of the group refers to an epic poem in ancient Persian. Their vocal harmony is perfect with each of them bringing their own style.

Joanna is a composer, lyricist and singer. She is twenty-five years old and she was the runner up at the singing talent show Star Academy in 2008. She was part of the cast at the musical Il Était Une Fois… Joe Dassin and her debut single, L’École Des Duplicatas, was released in 2009. She has developed a taste for eclectic music from rock to jazz.

The third candidate is also a trio, Twin Twin, whose music is influenced by electro, rock, rap and funk rhythms. It consists of Patrick Biyik and the twins Lorent Idir and François Djemel.

The voting took place in two stages starting with a first blind audition which finished with the selection of five acts and a second round where the three finalists were chosen by a majority. The expert committee was made up of the following professionals of the musical industry: Laurent Bentata (General Director of Stage Entertainment France), Bruno Berberes (casting and artistic director), Laura Cès (singer and comedian), Mary De Vivo (Director at Réservoir), Valérie Michelin (manager), Franck Saurat (tv producer), Dominique Bourron from France Bleu, Olivier Daube from France Ô and Thierry Langlois, Yann Chapellon, Marie-Claire Mezerette and Frédéric Valencak from France 3. This special committee was also joined by a representative of the French Eurovision fans, Farouk Vallette, and a tv viewer, Morgane Buret, who won the competition organized by the broadcaster to represent the audience at this stage of the selection process.

As we reported, the potential Eurovision entries will be revealed on the 26th of January in a special edition of the show Les Chansons d’Abord, hosted by former French Eurovision representative Natasha St-Pier, and the announcement of the winner will take place on the 2nd of March.

Below you can watch a video of each of the candidate acts.

You might also like to read:

Source:, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!