Melodifestivalen 2013: First half of the participants presented today

For many Eurovision fans the Swedish selection stands as something magical. The participating names are awaited with even more eager than a 5 year old looking forward to his Christmas presents. Few minutes ago the first half of these names were announced revealing several interesting names.

Swedish media have been speculating in which names would be participating at the 2013 Melodifestival. Fans have been following it closely – and today the broadcaster then revealed half of the names in with a chance to represent their country on homefield at the Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö in May.

The names revealed few minutes ago on a press conference are:

Preliminary heat 1

Title: Burning Flags
Singer: Cookies N Beans
Songwriter: Fredrik Kempe

Title: Gosa
Singer: Mary N’diaye
Songwriter: Johan Åsgärde, Mattias Frändå, Mary N’diaye

Title: Heartbreak Hotel
Singer: YOHIO
Songwriter: Johan Fransson, Tobias Lundgren, Tim Larsson, Henrik Göranson, YOHIO

Title: Paris
Singer: Jay-Jay Johansson
Songwriter: Jay-Jay Johansson

Title: Porslin
Singer: Anna Järvinen
Songwriter: Björn Olsson, Martin Elisson

Title: Skyline
Singer: David Lindgren
Songwriter: Fernando Fuentes, Henrik Nordenback, Christian Fast

Title: Vi kommer aldrig att förlora
Singer: Eric Gadd
Songwriter: Eric Gadd, Thomas Stenström, Jacob Olofsson

Title: We’re Still Kids
Singer: Michael Feiner & Caisa
Songwriter: Michael Feiner, Caisa Ahlroth

Preliminary heat 2:

Title: Annelie
Singer: Joacim Cans
Songwriter: Joacim Cans

Title: Begging
Singer: Anton Ewald
Songwriter: Fredrik Kempe, Anton Malmberg Hård af Segerstad

Title: Copacabanana
Singer: Sean Banan
Songwriter: Sean Banan, Ola Lindholm, Hans Blomberg, Joakim Larsson

Title: En förlorad sommar
Singer: Rikard Wolff
Songwriter: Tomas Andersson Wij

Title: Hello Goodbye
Singer: Erik Segerstedt & Tone Damli
Songwriter: Robin Fredriksson, Mattias Larsson, Måns Zelmerlöw

Title: Make Me No 1
Singer: Felicia Olsson
Songwriter: Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström, Ingela Pling Forsman, Maria Haukaas Mittet

Title: On Top Of The World
Singer: Pernilla Wahlgren, Hanna Hedlund, Jenny Silver
Songwriter: Peter Boström, Thomas G:son

Title: Only The Dead Fish Follow The Stream
Singer: Louise Hoffsten
Songwriter: Louise Hoffsten, Sandra Bjurman, Stefan Örn

You might also want to read:

Sweden tops list of English language skills

20 names "definitely in" for Melodifestivalen 2013 – according to Aftonbladet

Stockholm crying, Copenhagen cheering over Malmö announcement

Source: SVT, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!