Melodifestivalen 2013: Fourth Swedish heat – Get to know the participants

We have now reached the fourth heat in Melodifestivalen 2013 where finalist number 7 and 8 will be picked. Here we find a group that were icons in the 1990s and a solo artist who was top 3 in Melodifestivalen last year and now counts as maybe the biggest favourite to represent Sweden at the Eurovision song contest.

Song number 1: Army of LoversRockin’ the Ride (Written by: Alexander Bard, Henrik Wikström, Per QX, Andreas Öhrn, Jean-Pierre Barda)

Army of Lovers is a swedish dance music group that was formed in 1987. The three members are Camilla Henemark, Alexander Bard and Jean-Pierre Barda. In the early 90’s the group had big hits with the songs Obsession and Crucified, the later being one of the biggest selling European singles of 1991. During the years there the band had members leaving and joining the group. The band split up in 1996, was reformed briefly again in 2001. The band is now back again with it’s original members and are ready to make their first appearance as a gorup in the festival. Alexander Bard is a well known songwriter and also took part four times in Melodifestivalen as part of the group BWO in the ’00s.

Song number 2: Lucia PiñeraMust Be Love (Written by: Peter Kvint, Jonas Myrin)

19-year-old Lucia Piñera may not be a well known name to the swedish people, but have taken part in contests like "Jakten på Julia" in 2009, "Idol" in 2010, True Talent" in 2011 and in August 2012 she won the contest "I am Music" held in Malmö. She will now make her debut in Melodifestivalen in her hometown Malmö which is something Lucia has pointed out as something that means a lot for her. The song is an uptempo one written by Jonas Myrin och and Peter Kvint. The later has written songs like Sing for Me and A little bit of Love which were sung by Andreas Johnson in Melodifestivalen.

Song number 3: Robin StjernbergYou (Written by: Robin Stjernberg, Linnea Deb, Joy Deb och Joakim Harestad Haukaas)

21-year-old Robin Stjernberg started his music career in 2007 as part of the boyband What’s Up where Eric Saade also was one of the members. In 2011 Robin took part in Swedish Idol 2011 and went all the way to the final where here came 2nd behind Amanda Fondell (who we saw in the third heat of Melodifestivalen). One of the jury members in Swedish Idol was Alexander Bard who now will be a competitor in the same heat as Robin. In his first appearance in Melodifestivalen he will sing a strong song about a lot of love and emotions.

Song number 4: Sylvia Vrethammar Trivialitet (Written by: Thomas G:son, Calle Kindbom, Mats Tärnfors)

Sylvia Vrethammar is an experienced singer who had her first hit back in 1969 with the song Tycker om dig. In 1973 Sylvia records the song Eviva España which becomes a big hit in Sweden and also in the United Kingdom where the song peaks at #4 in the singles charts in 1974. She made her debut in Melodifestivalen 1971 and has taken part four times since making her latest appearance in 2002 with the song Hon är en annan nu. This time she will enter with a brazilian inspired song written by Mats Tärnfors, the qualified songwriter Calle Kindbom and the same man who wrote last years winning Eurovision song Euphoria Thomas G:son.

Song number 5: Ralf Gyllenhammar – Bed on Fire (Written by: Ralf Gyllenhammar, David Wilhelmson)

Ralf Gyllenhammar is known as singer and guitarist in the heavy metal band Mustasch which was formed in 1998. The band released several albums and have toured around in Sweden, Europe and also in the United States. In 2007 the band won the best hard rock album award at the Swedish Grammies with the album Version of the truth. Ralf has also made appereances in the several popular tv-shows over the years. He will show up on the stage in Malmö without his band and will sing a power ballad in a similar style as Elton Johns Yellow Brick Road. 

Song number 6: Behrang Miri – Jalla dansa sawa (Written by: Behrang Miri, Anderz Wrethov, Firas Razak Tuma, Tacfarinas Yamoun)

Behrang Miri was born in 1984 in Iran. He moved to Sweden with his family in 1987 and is today known as a rapper, writer and actor. Over the last years Behrang has lived in Malmö where he in 2008 was voted as that years happiness sharer. This is going to be Behrang first time in Melodifestivalen. The song is described as an uptempo song with an invitation to everyone to come on and dance. It’s a song about the equality of people and is inspired by the people who Behrang has met throughout his life.


Song number 7: Terese Fredenwall – Breaking The Silence (Written by: Terese Fredenwall, Simon Petrén)

26-year-old Terese Fredenwall became the first selected of this years 32 performers as she won the swedish radio talent competition "Svensktoppen nästa" held in August last year. As a songwriter Terese has earlier worked together with Jenny Berggren (Ace of base) and this years host and former MF-participant Danny Saucedo. Terese is regulary travelling through out Europe to meet young people living in a reality of violence, drug abuse and prostitution. Her song Breaking The Silence was written after a visit to a prison. The song itself is described as a love song to people who stands at a choice of leaving something destructive behind and saying yes to life.

Song number 8: Ulrik MuntherTell the World I’m Here (Written by: Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Ulrik Munther)

At the age of 18 Ulrik Munther already has gained a lot of experience as an artist. He started off by playing in different bands in his home town Kungsbacka. In 2009 he won "Lillla Melodifestivalen" with his own written song En vanlig dag. When Ulrik represented Sweden at Melodi Grand Prix Nordic with the same song he won once again. In 2012 he entered Melodifestivalen with the song Soldiers and finished in a respectable third place in the final. This year Ulrik has taken taken help to write his song from last years winning songwriting team Thomas G:son and Peter Boström.

The eight songs will become available to listen to from 14:00 CET on Saturday at the official SVT Melodifestivalen website.

You might also want to read:

Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!