20 Maltese semi-finalists presented

The 20 semi-finalists for the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2014 were revealed tonight during a special show on TVM. Last month, in total of 210 entries were submitted which were short listed to 70. The 20 semi-finalists will compete for 14 final spots. 

The Maltese final will be held on the 8th of February, with the semi-final the day before short listing the participants from 20 to 14.

The 20 semi-finalists were revealed during a special TV show in which each semi-finalist was announced one by one. Each artist that qualified to the semi-final performed a snippet of the song.

The list of qualifiers includes two former Maltese representatives i.e. Miriam Christine (1996) and Fabrizio Faniello (2001 & 2006). In the semi-final there is also a number of other established artists and new comers.

The 20 semi-finalists (composer & author in brackets)

  1. Same kind of wonderfulWayne William (Wayne William Micallef, Wayne William Micallef)
  2. City ladyRyan Paul Abela (Paul Abela, Ryan Abela & Joe Julian Farrugia)
  3. Brand new dayDavinia Pace (Elton Zarb, Muxu)
  4. Let the sunshine inSophie Debattista (Sophie Debattista, Lou Mullen, Adam Pakard & Alexander Dew)
  5. HypnoticaJessica Muscat (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
  6. Invisible Raquel Galdes (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
  7. One last ride Daniel Testa (Stephen Rudden, Lawrence Peter Bridge)
  8. Pin the middleDebbie Stivala (Peter Paul Galea, Debbie Stivala)
  9. OblivionChris Grech (Philip Vella, Chris Grech & Gerard James Borg)
  10. Until we meet again Deborah C (Elton Zarb, Muxu)
  11. Because I have you Amber (Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
  12. Love tricityChristabelle Borg (Magnus Kaxe, Gerard James Borg)
  13. Coming home Fire Light (Richard Micallef, Richard Micallef)
  14. Safe Miriam Christine (Mark Scicluna, Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  15. AddictiveRomina Mamo (Linda Persson, Ylva Persson)
  16. Now and forever Andreana Debattista (Vinny Vella, Karl Spiteri)
  17. Love will take me homeFranklin Calleja (Glen Vella, Beatrice Eriksson, Marcus Frenell & Michael James Down)
  18. TenCorazon (Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
  19. Take mePamela (Boris Cezek, Boris Cezek)
  20. Just no place like home Fabrizio Faniello (Johan Bejerholm, Johan Bejerholm)

In the last edition, Malta managed to get a good result in the final of the Eurovision Song Contest. Gianluca received a respectable 8th place with the song Tomorrow.

You might also want to read

Source: EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!