Wildcard finalists revealed in Spain

Earlier today, Spanish broadcaster RTVE revealed the 30 wildcard acts for its Eurovision 2017 national selection. Waiting for fans who wish to participate in the process is almost over as the online voting starts in a few hours.

RTVE revealed the final 30 wildcard acts today. Apart from this online round, some acts will be selected internally by the broadcaster and qualify for the national final straight away. The 30 wildcard acts on the other hand will be voted for online (one vote per IP address).

The voting begins tomorrow, Friday 2nd December. The top 10 entries will be narrowed down to three by an expert jury and the three finalists will eventually compete for a single place in the Objetivo Eurovisión Grand Final.

The final 30 songs are available to listen to on the Eurovision section of the RTVE website.

Spain at Eurovision 2016

Spain was represented by Barei singing Say Yay!. She was selected using the Objetivo Eurovisión national final formula. Since Barei was representing a big 5 country, she qualified straight to the Grand final, placing 22nd with 77 points.

Barei had not won the international jury vote in the national final. She had placed second to Xuso Jones, who, despite having won over the international jury, ended up second overall. Barei had won the vote of the in studio jury however, which consisted of Loreen, Edurne and Carlos Marín.

Source: RTVE
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!