Unser Lied für Israel: Song titles announced along with 7th finalist

The preliminary round is now complete and a 7th finalist has been added into the mix. One of these artists will win a ticket to Tel Aviv and represent Germany at the Eurovision Song Contest.

These 7 artists will be hoping to follow in Michael Schulte’s footsteps and represent Germany when the Eurovision Song Contest comes to Tel Aviv later this year. In November 6 competitors were chosen to enter the preliminary stage of the national selection process with an extra act being added to the line up. In addition, NDR have also announced the name of the song that each competitor will be singing.

4 out of 7 songs were written during a 5 day song writing camp where the candidates worked with 24 national and international lyricists, composers and producers hoped to write a song which will once again bring the Eurovision crown to Germany. One of the more notable song-writers Thomas Stengaard who co-write Sisters track sister was one of the song-writers behind Emmelie De Forest’s winning song Only Teardrops. The song-writer had further success and was also involved in writing You let me walk alone which was performed by Michael Schulte last year. The song finished in 4th place sparking Germany’s best result since Lena won the contest in 2010.

Another Danish songwriter with Eurovision experience is Tim Schou leadsinger from A Friend In London who represented Denmark at the 2011 contest.

The 7 artists competing in the selection and their songs are:

Aly Ryan: Wear your love – Music and lyrics by Aly Ryan, Michelle Leonard, Thomas Stengaard, Tamara Olorga

(Written during Song Writing Camp)

BB Thomaz: Demons – Music and lyrics by BB Thomaz, Andrew Tyler, Ricardo Bettiol, Tim Schou

(Written during Song Writing Camp)

Linus Bruhn: Our City – Music by Linus Bruhn, Dave Roth, Pat Benzner, Serhat Sakin, Simon Reichardt

Lyrics by Linus Bruhn, Dave Roth, Pat Benzner, Serhat Sakin, Gianna Roth

Gregor Hägele: Let me go – Music and lyrics byGregor Hägele, Jonas Shandel, David Jürgens, Tamara Olorga

(Written during Song Writing Camp)

Sisters: Sister – Music and lyrics byLaurell Barker, Marine Kaltenbacher, Tom Oehler, Thomas Stengaard

lilly among clouds: Surprise –  Music and lyrics by Elisabeth Brüchner, Musik: Elisabeth Brüchner, Udo Rinklin

Makeda: The day I loved you most – Music and lyrics by Makeda, Tim Uhlenbrock, Kelvin Jones, Kristine Bogan

(Written during Song Writing Camp)

The 7 acts will compete in “Unser Lied für Israel” (Our song for Israel)Television channel Das Erste will air the German pre-selection this coming February which will be presented by Barbara Schöneberger und Linda Zervakis.

This year’s entrants have some big shoes to fill. You can remind yourself of why by watching Michael Schulte rehearsing You let me walk alone in Lisbon.

Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!