Melodi Grand Prix 2016: Danish national final jury revealed

Updated after disqualification: Today, Danish broadcaster DR, revealed their jury for this Saturday’s national final. A former Eurovision singer, a Eurovision songwriter, a radio host and a choreographer, those are the four that will decide half in the first round of voting in Denmark.

When Denmark on Saturday will select its representative for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest there will be two rounds of voting. In the first one, to pick the songs for the super final, a jury will decide 50%. In the final round only televoting will be used.

The jury for the Danish final revealed today consist of:

Choreographer Vicky Leander, OGAE Denmark president Johann Sørensen, 2010 Danish Eurovision participant  Christina Chanée, Eurovision songwriter John Gordon who wrote the German 2010 winner Satellite and radio host Dennis Johannesson.

Update 19:00 CET: DR disqualified the OGAE Denmark president, Johann Sørensen from the jury for speaking openly about Simone as favourite with bookmakers and also himself.He spoke about it in an interview with Danish newspaper MetroExpress, and once DR heard it they evaluated that he can’t be in the jury. A new jury member is believed to be appointed Wednesday or Thursday.

The Danish final will be held Saturday the 13th of February in the Jutlandic city, Horsens. EuroVisionary will be present and cover on location from Thursday.

While waiting for the Danish 2016 entry, please take a look at this video with highlights of their Eurovision participation in the years 2008 – 2015. We included some of our rare and unusual clips as well in order to present some clips which you might not have seen before:

Source: DR
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!