Malta and Destiny wins 2015 Junior Eurovision Song Contest

A former Eurovision participant as host, 17 countries taking part, two of them for the first time, 12 points to San Marino and the second Maltese winner in just three years. That was what tonight’s 2015 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest had to offer.

Tonight the Junior Eurovision Song Contest was held. A total of 17 countries took part – the highest number of participants in a while. Included in this was two debut countries, Australia and Ireland while Albania and FYR Macedonia returned after a break.

Live from Sofia, Bulgaria the show kicked off at 19.30 CET. To host the show the broadcaster had chosen a familiar name to Eurovision followers in Poli Genova who represented Bulgaria at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2011.

The result

As with the Eurovision Song Contest half of the result is decided by jury – and the jury members from each participating country all voted based on the dress rehearsal last night. As usual their points were kept secret and tonight was combined with the televoting to make up the final result.

Malta got the first 12 points and as such set the lead right from the start, a lead which they managed to keep and ended up winning ahead of Armenia who came second and Slovenia third.

During the voting San Marino also managed to receive 12 points which was their very first 12 points given at any Eurovision event.

The full result:

  1. Malta 185 points
  2. Armenia 176 points
  3. Slovenia 112 points
  4. Belarus 105 points
  5. Albania 93 points
  6. Russia 80 points
  7. Serbia 79 points
  8. Australia 64 points
  9. Bulgaria 62 points
  10. Georgia 51 points
  11. Ukraine 38 points
  12. Ireland 36 points
  13. Montenegro 36 points
  14. San Marino 36 points
  15. The Netherlands 35 points
  16. Italy 35 points
  17. FYR Macedonia 26 points

The participants

    • Serbia: Lena Stamenković – Lenina pesma
    • Georgia: The Virus – Gabede
    • Slovenia: Lina Kuduzović – Prva ljubezen
    • Italy: Chiara & Martina – Viva
    • The Netherlands: Shalisa – Million Lights
    • Australia: Bella Paige – My Girls
    • Ireland: Aimee Banks – Réalta na Mara
    • Russia: Mikhail Smirnov – Mechta (Dream)
    • FYR Macedonia: Ivana Petkovska & Magdalena Aleksovska – Pletenka – Braid of Love
    • Belarus: Ruslan Aslanov – Volshebstvo (Magic)
    • Armenia: Mika – Love
    • Ukraine: Anna Trincher – Pochny z Sebe
    • Bulgaria: Gabriela Yordanova & Ivan Stoyanov – Colour of Hope
    • San Marino: Kamilla Ismailova – Mirror
    • Malta: Destiny Chukunyere – Not My Soul
    • Albania: Mishela Rapo – Dambaje
    • Montenegro: Jana Mirković – Oluja

What is Junior Eurovision

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest followed after a Danish idea to extend their running MGP Nordic – a similar competition for the Nordic countries – to a European event. EBU went along and in 2003 the first ever Junior Eurovision Song Contest was held. Different rule changes led to the Nordic countries leaving the contest, which in recent years has struggled to get enough participating countries.

As of 2015 the age rule is set to 10 to 15 years old, they are allowed to have album deals already, and adults are also allowed to write the songs. The latter was introduced in 2008 and has been heavily discussed.

Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!