It’s confirmed! Sergey Lazarev in Eurovision comeback

A bad kept secret is now officially confirmed. Sergey Lazarev will represent Russia at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. After narrowly missing out on victory in 2016, does he have what it takes to bring the trophy back to Russia for a second time?

After months of talks, the truth is out. Sergey Lazarev has been given the Russian ticket to Tel Aviv and will represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest for the second time. The song that he will compete with is not yet known, but it is written by Greek composer Dimitris Kontopoulos, who has written eight Eurovision entries over the years, including Lazarev’s 2016 entry You Are The Only One. In the Russian team this year we also find Fokas Evangelinos as stage director, Ilias Kokotos as project manager and vocal coach Alex Panayi, who previously represented Cyprus twice (1995 and 2000).

Sergey Lazarev becomes the second singer from Russia to enter the contest more than once. Fellow pop star Dima Bilan finally brought Russia their first victory in 2008, two years after his first time competing where he finished in 2nd place.

With his dazzling light effects and him climbs up on the backing screen as it spun around, Lazarev caught attention with his 2016 performance. For many, he was the sure winner of the contest, but it didn’t work out that way. Although he won the public telephone vote, he received a disappointing jury result, which made him finish in third place. Many felt that the jury vote was politically biased as Ukraine’s Jamala became the overall winner despite neither winning the jury or the televote.

I was very worried about whether I should go back to the competition because on the one hand it was the best professional experience of my life but on the other I do not like to repeat myself. It is magical, however, that music can give to an artist all the answer to his thoughts, as by listening to the song, in a magical way I was totally questioned.

Sergey Lazarev to Channel One  News

Dimitris Kontopoulos’ eight Eurovision entries

Greek composer Kontopoulos first appeared at Eurovision in 2007 for Belarus. Over the years, he have written seven more Eurovision entries and represented a total of five countries. Seven of his Eurovision songs reached the final and most of them scored a result in top 10.

Year Country Title Artist Placement
2007 Belarus Work Your Magic Dimitry Koldun 6th
2008 Ukraine Shady Lady Ani Lorak 2nd
2009 Greece This Is Our Night Sakis Rouvas 7th
2013 Azerbaijan Hold Me Farid Mammadov 2nd
2014 Russia Shine Tolmachevy Sisters 7th
2016 Russia You Are The Only One Sergey Lazarev 3rd
2017 Greece This Is Love Demy 16th
2018 Azerbaijan X My Heart Aisel Did not reach the final

Although not officially credited, Kontopoulos also wrote Moldova 2018. This was revealed at a press conference in Lisbon.

Sergey will be hoping to put Russia back on the Eurovision map. Last year, Julia Samoylova became the first Russian entrant not to qualify for the grand final. Her entry I Won’t Break failed to impress as she finished the semi-final in 15th place.

In the video below, you can be reminded of Sergey’s first attempt at Eurovision when he performs You Are The Only One in Stockholm.

Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!