Finland presents its candidates for UMK 2014

Krista Siegfrieds, winner of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2013 managed to bring Finland back to the final after the failure of 2012. With a quirky, not least controversial stage show, Marry Me certainly got people talking and can therefore be deemed a success. Broadcaster YLE hope to emulate that success next year, unveiling the first acts for UMK 2014 today.

When Krista Siegfrieds took her punchy entry Marry Me to Malmö for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, there was no shortage of wedding proposals. Although the trip ended up in anything but wedded bliss for the singer, it’s quite a while since a Finnish entry caused such a buzz. This year’s Finnish selection, Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu, was one of the strongest in recent years. In the run up to the final, there was no clear favourite, with jurors seemingly torn between Krista, Diandra and her sultry Colliding Into You and Mikael Saari with his heart wrenching ballad We Should Be Through. The excitement made for a great final, and once the televoters had had their say, Krista emerged victorious. Broadcaster YLE are hoping to repeat the success of this year, with their newest batch of contenders, presented to the general public today.

Tomi Saarinen, Aija Puurtinen, Toni Wirtanen and Redrama, otherwise known as the four jurors from last year’s competition are back for another season, ready to offer guidance and advice to the twelve acts that were revealed today. The public will be given the chance to get to know the participants better in two shows on the 28th of December and 4th of January. The twelve acts in the running for UMK 2014 are as follows:

1.   Lauri MikkolaGoing down
2.   Clarissa feat. JoshTop of the world
3.   Madcraft Shining Bright
4.   Mikko PohjolaSängyn reunalla
5.   Jasmin MichaelaKertakäyttösydän
6.   Hukka ja MamaSelja
7.   Hanna SkyHope
8.   MAKEA Painovoima
9.   Dennis FagerströmMy little honey bee
10. SoftengineSomething better
11. Lili LambertLet me take you there
12. MIAUGod/Drug

Two heats each consisting of six acts will take place on the 11th and 18th of January, with the winning act from each heat gaining a place in the final. The last placed acts will be eliminated from the competition, while the remaining four from each heat will be given another chance to prove their worth in a second chance round, scheduled for the 25th of January. Six of the eight acts will be awarded places in the final, due to take place at the Barona Areena in Espoo on the 1st of February.

You might also like to read:

Source: / /
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!