Arzu İsmailova Wins the Last Heat of Azeri Milli Seçim Turu

Tonight, we came to the end of the long process of Azerbaijan’s national final, Milli Seçim Turu 2012. Another group of nine participants fought for the last ticket to semi-finals where Arzu İsmailova got the winning award.

The first elimination process in the host country’s selections, named Milli Seçim Turu, has ended with the eighth and the last heat this week. The last group of nine participants were including the names, Tofig Haciyev, Rinat Allimov, Arzu Ismailova, Ali Memmedli, Ülker Guliyeva, Abbas Kerimli, Zaur Emiraslanov, Ulvi Rashidov and Caspian Dreamers. Though the last heat started on Monday, it finished on Saturday instead of Friday 
as the semi-final allocation draw was held on Wednesday. As in the previous editions the schedule of the week was:

•    Monday: World Hits
•    Tuesday: Azeri Music
•    Thursday: Eurovision Hits
•    Friday: Performance Day
•    Saturday: Participants’ Choice

During the last show of the last heat, we were able to hear Eldar’s new song entitled Saf Sevgi Hakkında which means ‘About the Pure Love’. The song is written by Zehra Bedelbeyli and Toni, composed by Aleksander Kalaşnikov. 

After the performances of the week, the votes were announced from last position to top. The latest results were collected after each day’s results with the combination of jury and televoting, 50/50. After all these calculations, Arzu İsmailova got the medal of honour to participate in the semi-final. With the results of the last heat, the Azeri Milli Seçum Turu’s semi-final heat now looks like: 

1st heat: Orhan Kerimli
2nd heat: Meryem Kerimova
3rd heat: Hayyam Mustafazadeh
4th heat: Fegan Sererov

5th heat: Elton İbrahimov
6th heat: Adil Bakışlı
7th heat: Sabina Babayeva
8th heat: Arzu İsmailova

Below you can watch Eldar’s performance of Saf Sevgi Hakkında and you cal also watch winner of eight heat, Arzu İsmailova singing Adele’s Someone Like You.

Source: EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!