All Icelandic entries now online

As reported last week, all participants in this year’s edition of the Icelandic selection, Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins are now confirmed and with a mere twelve days to go, the week began with a preview of this year’s entries on the Rás 2 channel.

The confirmation of big names including two former Eurovision entrants among this year’s participants has no doubt created huge public interest in the songs on offer this year. Fans have not had to wait long, with entries being aired on the radio over the next three days. All songs in the running have simultaneously been made available online, these can be heard on the official RÚV Söngvakeppnin website.

The line up for Söngvakeppnin 2013 is as follows:  

Augnablik (A moment)- Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir
(M: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / T: Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir)

Ekki Líta Undan (Don’t Look Away) – Magni Ásgeirsson
(M: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / T: Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir)

Ég á Líf (I’ve Got a Life) – Eyþór Ingi Gunnlaugsson
(M & T: Örlygur Smári og Pétur Örn Guðmundsson)

Ég Syng! (I’m singing) – Unnur Eggertsdóttir
(M:Elíza Newman, Gísli Kristjánsson & Ken Rose / T: Elíza Newman, Gísli Kristjánsson & Hulda G. Geirsdóttir)

Lífið Snýst (Life goes on) – Svavar Knútur Kristinsson & Hreindís Ylva Garðarsdóttir Hólm
(M: Hallgrímur Óskarsson / T: Hallgrímur Óskarsson og Svavar Knútur Kristinsson)

Meðal Andanna (Among the spirits) – Birgitta Haukdal
(M: Birgitta Haukdal, Sylvía Haukdal Brynjarsdóttir & Jonas Gladnikoff /
T: Birgitta Haukdal, Sylvía Haukdal Brynjarsdóttir, Michael James Down & Primoz Poglajen)

Sá Sem Lætur Hjartað Ráða För (The one who follows his heart) – Edda Viðarsdóttir
(M: Þórir Úlfarsson / T: Kristján Hreinsson)

Skuggamynd (Silhouette) – Klara Ósk Elíasdóttir
(M: Hallgrímur Óskarsson & Ashley Hicklin / T: Bragi Valdimar Skúlason)

Stund með Þér (A Moment With You) – Sylvía Erla Scheving
(M & T: María Björk Sverrisdóttir)

Til Þín (For You) – Jógvan Hansen & Stefanía Svavarsdóttir
(M: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / T: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson & Ágúst Ibsen)

Vinátta (Friendship) – Haraldur Reynisson
(M & T: Haraldur Reynisson)

Þú (You) – Jóhanna Guðrún Jónsdóttir
(M & T: Davíð Sigurgeirsson)

Magni is back for a third consecutive year – it will be interesting to see if it will be third time lucky for the passionate performer. Birgitta Haukdal makes her fourth appearance at the contest with Meðal Andanna, so only time will tell if this track proves to be as popular as Open Your Heart. Jóhanna is back after taking a year off – will her song Þú become another huge fan favourite? Þórunn Erna Clausen is visibly absent this year, after having two out of her three jointly composed entries in last year’s final. But we can welcome back Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson and María Björk Sverrisdóttir – Sigurðsson managed to get three entries into the national selection last year, including the third placed Hugarró and Sverrisdóttir was part of the team behind Regina Ósk’s Motown frolic, Hjartað Brennur. Let us know what you think of this year’s line up on our Facebook page!

You might also like to read:

Source: Rú /
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!