Australia to take part in 2015 Junior Eurovision Song Contest

Following their debut at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, it was today announced that Australia will also take part in the Junior edition. When the show kicks of on the 21st of November a total of 17 countries will be in the line up.

The other day it was mentioned from the Junior Eurovision team that a 17th country might be added to the final line up, and today came the announcement that this country will be Australia. It is also mentioned that broadcaster SBS will present their entry on Friday.

Junior Eurovision contest supervisor Vladislav Yakovlev  says about Australia’s participation:

Host broadcaster BNT have been outstanding in their enthusiasm and preparation for the event.

Australia has been broadcasting the Junior Eurovision Song Contest since the start in 2003, and the Eurovision Song Contest for more than years.

This year’s edition of Junior Eurovision Song Contest takes place in Sofia, Bulgaria on the 21st of November, but Australia won’t broadcast before the 28th of November. This means that Australia won’t have televoting, but their points will be 100% decided by jury.

17 participating countries

With Australia taking part as well we now have a line up consisting of 17 countries, which is the highest since 2007, and a joint second best. The final line up is:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (ARMTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Bulgaria (BNT) – host broadcaster
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • FYR Macedonia (MRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!