Sweden selects two new songs through televised show

In tonights final of the web joker (the web wild card), the two songs that gathered most votes from the viewers were "Better or worse" performed by Julia Alvgard & "On my own" performed by Jonas Mattsson . These two songs has now qualified for the semifinals of Melodifestivalen 2011.

Five songs were performed in the following order at the restaurang & nightclub Golden Hits in Stockholm:

Song 1. Billy – "Tusen nätter"

Song 2. Julia Alvgard – "Better or worse"

Song 3. Anton & Dejo – "I wanna be with you"

Song 4. Engla – "Don’t stop"

Song 5. Jonas Matsson – "On my own"

After the televotes & sms votes had been counted, it stood clear that the two songs that qualified were "Better or worse" and "On my own". Better or worse is written by Manne Hjelm, Ola Holstad and Joar Lenz. On my own is written by Peter Autio and Sari Autio Olsson.

Yesterday it became official that former ESC-winner Elisabeth Andreasssen will enter Melodifestivalen. Elisabeth represented Sweden in Eurovision 1982 together with Kikki Danielsson (Sweden 1985) where they came 8th. She later formed the group Bobbysocks together with Hanne Krogh & reached 1st place in ESC 1985 with the song "La det swinge". She also represented Norway in 1994 when she sang "Duett" together with Jan Werner Danielsen (6th place) and in 1996 with "Evighet" (2nd place).

A total of 17 songs & perfomers has now been selected for the semifinals of Melodifestivalen 2011. 15 entries still remains to be revealed during the autumn.

Source: EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!