SVT reveals songs for Melodifestivalen 2009

Swedish broadcaster SVT has now revealed the titles as well as the composers for 28 of the 32 songs competing in Melodifestivalen 2009.  There will be several famous Swedish composers competing next year. Thomas G:son, Andreas Lundstedt and Måns Zelmerlöw just to mention a few.

As described in previous articles, there are going to be four semi-finals in Melodifestivalen next year, as it has been since 2002. Eight songs are going to compete in each semi-final, the four remaining songs will be revealed later on.

The 28 songs have been selected by a jury containing both Swedish and international jury members. Among the international jury members, you would find names such as Bruno Berberes, Head of the French Delegation during the Eurovision Song Contest and Thomas Lundin, host at Finnish broadcaster YLE.

This is the complete list with all the 28 songs.
(Note that the order of the songs are random)

1. Title: 1000 Miles
Lyrics and Music: Niklas Jarl, David Stenmarck 

2. Title: Alla (All)
Lyrics: Nina Karolidou
Music: Dimitri Stassos, Henrik Wikström, Irini Michas

3.Title: Den första kyssen (The first kiss)
Lyrics and Music: Lina Eriksson, Målgan B-son 

4.Title: Du vinner över mig (You will win over me)
Lyrics and Music: Thomas G:son 

5.Title: Esta Noche
Lyrics: Michael Xavier Barraza, Jimmy Almgren, Adam Soliman
Music: Michael Xavier Barraza

6. Title: Higher
Lyrics: Johan Becker 

Music: Johan Fjellström, Joakim Udd, Johan Becker

7.Title: Hope And Glory
Lyrics: Fredrik Kempe, Måns Zelmerlöw, 
Music: Fredrik Kempe, Henrik Wikström

8.Title: Här för mig själv
Lyrics and Music: Thomas G:son, Marcos Ubeda

9.Title: I Got You
Lyrics: Rodrigo Pencheff,
Music: Rodrigo Pencheff, Tobias Karlsson

10.Title: It’s My Life
Lyrics: Alexander Bard, Bobby Ljunggren,
Music: Alexander Bard, Bobby Ljunggren, Oscar Holter

11.Title: Jag ska slåss i dina kvarter (I will fight in your neighbourhood)
Lyrics and Music: Lasse Lindh

12. Title: Jag tror på oss (I believe in us)
Lyrics: Ingela "Pling" Forsman
Music: Lars "Dille" Diedrison, Martin Hedström

13. Title: Killing Me Tenderly
Lyrics and Music: Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström, Tobbe Petterssen

14.Title: Love Love Love
Lyrics and Music: Anders Hansson

15. Title: Med hjärtat fyllt av ljus
Lyrics: Ingela "Pling" Forsman
Music: Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström 

16. Title: Moving On
Lyrics and Music: Sarah Dawn Finer, Fredrik Kempe 

17.Title: Männskobarn (Human child)
Lyrics: Ingela "Pling" Forsman 

Music: Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström

18. Title: Never Been Here Before
Lyrics and Music: Jennifer Brown, Peter Kvint

19. Title: Show Me Heaven
Lyrics: Susie Päivärinta, Calle Kindbom, Thomas G:son

Music: Susie Päivärinta, Calle Kindbom, Thomas G:son, Pär Lönn

20. Title: Snälla, snälla (Please, Please)
Lyrics: Caroline af Ugglas
Music: Heinz Liljedahl

21. Title: Stay The Night
Lyrics and Music: Anders Hansson, Mårten Sandén, Andreas Lundstedt, Therese Merkel, Lina Hedlund

22. Title: Så vill stjärnorna (The stars want it that way)
Lyrics: Ingela "Pling" Forsman 

Music: Bobby Ljunggren, Marcos Ubeda

23. Title: The Queen
Lyrics and Music: Tony Nilsson, Henrik Janson 

24. Title: Tick Tock
Lyrics and Music: Johan Lyander, Matti Alfonzetti

25.Title: Welcome To My Life
Lyrics and Music: Samuel Waermö, Didrik Thott

26. Title: What If
Lyrics and Music: Robin Abrahamsson, Amir Aly, Maciel Numhauser 

27.Title: You’re My World
Lyrics and Music: Emilia Rydberg, Fredrik ”Figge” Boström

28.Title: You’re Not Alone
Lyrics and Music: Fredrik Kempe, Alexander Bard, Anders Hansson 

Now, when the songs are chosen, Christer Björkman (Producer and Head of Delegation) and the composers will discuss which artists should perform the songs. We will have to wait a few more weeks until the artists are revealed.


SVT:S website

Source:, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!