Melodifestivalen 2012: The 16 first acts known

Today the swedish broadcaster SVT held a press conference to officially announce the first 16 artists who will compete in semifinal 1 and 2 of Melodifestivalen 2012. Afrodite is back again along with the Moniker, Loreen, Sonja Aldén and Marie Serneholt. Among the newcomers we have names like the experienced Thomas Di Leva and the young Ulrik Munther.

Heat 1 – Växjö, VIDA Arena (4th of February)

LoreenEuphoria (Thomas G:son, Peter Boström)
The MonikerI want to be Chris Isaak (The Moniker)
Thorsten Flinck & RevolutionsorkesternJag reser mig igen (Thomas G:son, Ted Ström)
Dead by AprilMystery (Pontus Hjelm)
Abalone DotsPå väg (Abalone Dots (Rebecka Hjukström, Sophia Hogman, Louise Holmer), Viktor Källgren)
Marie SerneholtSalt & pepper (Lina Eriksson, Mårten Eriksson, Figge Boström)
Sean BananSean den förste banan (Sean Banan, Joakim Larsson, Hans Blomberg, Mårten Andersson)
AfroditeThe boy can dance (Figge Boström, Catrine Loqvist, Johan Lindman)

Heat 2 – Göteborg, Scandinavium (11th of February)

Andreas LundstedtAldrig aldrig (Niclas Lundin, Maria Marcus, Randy Goodrum)
Top CatsBaby doll (Mårten Eriksson, Lina Eriksson, Susie Päivärinta)
Mimi OhDet går för långsamt (Anton Malmberg Hård af Segerstad, Niclas Lundin)
Thomas Di LevaGe aldrig upp (Thomas Di Leva)
Sonja AldénI din himmel (Sonja Aldén, Bobby Ljunggren, Peter Boström)
David LindgrenShout it out (Tony Nilsson, Fernando Fuentes)
Ulrik MuntherSoldiers (Ulrik Munther, Johan Åberg, Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, David Jackson)
TimoteijStormande hav (Kristian Lagerström, Johan Fjellström, Stina Engelbrecht, Jens Engelbrecht)

The starting order and the 16 other names will be known at next weeks press conference.

Source:, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!