Malta reveals national finalists

With rumours of certain countries pulling out of the contest in Malmö, Malta will most definitely be there.  Tonight broadcaster TVM/PBS revealed the 24 songs that will compete in the national semi-final and final, to be held at Ta’ Qali on 1 and 2 February.

In a glittering ceremony in the national broadcasting centre on the popular talk show Xarabank, Malta’s path to Eurovision took a step nearer to Sweden by announcing 24 lucky finalists.  They will do battle in a semi-final on 1 February, with the top songs moving to the final on 2 February.  Some familiar names are among the 24qualifiers, probably most notably Claudia Faniello, sister of twice Eurovision performer Fabrizio Faniello, and runner-up in the 2012 national final with the song Pure.

The semi-finalists are:

Janice DebattistaPerfect day (writers Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat)
Chris GrechNever walk alone (writers Matthew James Borg, David Cassar Torregiani, Chris Grech)
Claudia FanielloWhen it’s time (writers Errol Sammut, Claudia Faniello)
Corazon MizziMy stranger love (writers Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
Richard EdwardsFall like Rome (writers Philip Vella, Magnus Kaxe, Gerard James Borg)
Ylenia VellaTides of illusion (writers Jason Cassar, Mario Farrugia)
GanniUs against the world (writers Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat)
Jessica MuscatUltraviolet (writers Philip Vella, Thomas G:son, Gerard James Borg)
Dorothy BezzinaStarting from the end (writers Magnus Kaxe, Gerard James Borg)
Gianluca BezzinaTomorrow (writers Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat)
Danica MuscatFantasy (writers Paul Abela, Joe Julia Farrugia)
Kevin BorgNeeding you (writers Kevin Borg, Simon Gribbe, Dan Attlerud, Thomas Thörnholm, Michael Clauss)
Melanie ZammitLoverdose (writers Maria Lundin, Niclas Lundin, Gerard James Borg)
Dominique AzzopardiToo little too late (writers Marc Paelinck, Matthias Strasser)
Davinia PaceBetrayed (writers Elton Zarb, Muxu)
RaquelaKeep believing (writer Raquela Dalli Gonzi)
ScarSuperstar (writer Konrad Pule)
Saskia HuntDress rehearsal (writers Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
AmberIn control (writers Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
PetraNo one’s home (writers Wayne Micallef, Richard Micallef)
Deborah CLove-o-holic (writers Johan Bejerholm, Gerard James Borg)
Franklin CallejaLet your heart talk (writers Ray Agius, Alfred C Sant)
Klinsman ColeiroThe remedy (writers Philip Vella, Magnus Kaxe, Gerard James Borg)
Petra & Richard EdwardsWonderful today (writers Wayne Micallef, Richard Micallef)

Kurt Calleja came 21st in the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest in Baku with the song This is the night

Source: Eurovisionary, TVM/PBS
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!