Malta 2011 finalists announced

Malta have announced the finalists to take part in the 2011 Eurosong to see who will represent them at the Eurovision Song Contest in Germany.  There are some familiar names including the return of Fabrizio Faniello.

The Malta selection will take place at the Mediterannean Conference Centre over 2 days with the semi final consisting of 24 songs on 11 February and the final with 16 songs on 12 February.

Claudia Faniello, Eleanor Cassar and Glen Vella and former Junior Eurovision singer, Sophie Debattista.

There is a combination of established acts like Claudia Faniello, Eleanor Cassar, Glen Vella and J. Anvil.  Fabrizio Faniello will try again after representing Malta at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2001 and 2006.  New singers like Amber, who recently won the KKI Festival and Domenique Azzopardi, who has a song composed by Eurovision legend, Ralph Siegel.

The 24 songs selected are

01. AmberCatch 22 (Ray Agius, Godwin Sant) 
02. Jessica MuscatDown Down Down (Philip Vella, Jessica Muscat)
03. Wayne MicallefEverybody Sing (Wayne Micallef, Wayne Micallef)
04. Richard EdwardsFinally (Jan Van Dijck, Richard Micallef)
05. Cherise GrixtiHeart of Glass (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
06. Marilena Gauci featuring Michael HenryHe’s a Demon (Michael Henry, Anthony Grech)
07. Eleanor CassarHypnotized (Paul Giordimania , Fleur Balzan)
08. Raquela If I Could Do It All Again (Marc Paelnick, Mathias Strasser)
09. Domenique AzzopardiI’ll Follow the Sunshine (Ralph Siegel, Dr. Bernd Meinunger)
10. Jamie TonnaLost Without You (Marco Debono, Aidan O’Connor)
11. Kelly SchembriLove Me Like Your Money (Sven Lundholm, Erik Rydmark, Gerard James Borg)
12. Sophie Debattista – Love to Love You (Elton Zarb, Sophie Debattista)
13. BaklavaMood Dance (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
14. Claudia FanielloMovie in my Mind (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
15. Fabrizio FanielloNo Surrender (Johan Stentorp , Johan Bederholm)
16. AllyNumb (Ally, Ally)
17. Glen VellaOne Life (Paul Giordimania, Fleur Balzan)
18. Kurt CallejaOver and Over (Johan J’atmberg, Kurt Calleja)
19. Klinsmann Coleiro / Benjamin DarmaninThis Love (Klinsmann Coleiro, Jonathan Spiteri)
20. J.AnvilTopsy Turvy (Jonas Gladnikoff / Niall Mooney / Andrew Zahra, Deo Grech / Natasha Turner)
21. AmberTouch Wood (Ray Agius, Alfred Sant)
22. Anna AzzopardiUnfaithful (Renato Briffa, Keith Zammit)
23. Petra ZammitUnintentional (Elton Zarb, Rita Pace)
24. Rosman PaceYou’ll Never Know (Steven D. Cook, Jordan Milnes)
The winning act will follow Thea Garrett, who represented Malta in Oslo with My Dream.
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!

Wordpress Popup Plugin Free