German final “Unser Star für Baku” on February 16th

The German broadcaster NDR has just revealed that the final of Unser Star für Baku will be held on February 16th, 2012. A total of 20 candidates will compete for the honour of representing Germany in Baku. The winner will be chosen by televoting.

Unser Star für Baku will already start at the beginning of January. Soon after the Eurovision Song Contest in Düsseldorf it was revealed that Thomas D., a member of the popular German band Die Fantastischen Vier would be the successor of Stefan Raab as the new jury president. All shows will be hosted by Sandra Rieß and Steven Gätjen. There will be 20 candidates competing in a total of eight shows. The first show will be broadcasted on January 12th, 2012 on the private TV channel ProSieben.

There will be 10 candidates in each of the first two shows. A total of ten of them (5 per show) will proceed to the next show. During the following three shows, a quarter and a semi final eight more candidates will be eliminated, so that there will be only two singers in the final on February 16th, 2012. All results will be determined by televoting.

Thomas D. pointed out that he looks for a very special singer, a unique talent who is one in a million. He already promises that it will be an awesome show because there are several great artists among the candidates.

Thomas Schreiber, chief of the entertainment department of the German broadcaster ARD says that it is his goal to bring the Eurovision Song Contest back to Germany.

The show format Unser Star für… was developped in a cooperation of the German national broadcaster ARD/NRD and the private TV channel ProSieben. It started in 2010 after Germany had scored several low results at the Eurovision Song Contest in a row. 2010 was the year of Lena Meyer-Landrut who won the final of Unser Star für Oslo with Satellite and could finally win the Eurovision Song Contest 2010. Last year Lena competed again and finished 10th in Düsseldorf with Taken by a stranger.

These are the dates of Unser Star für Baku:

12.01.2012 20.15 CET (ProSieben)
19.01.2012 20.15 CET (ProSieben)
26.01.2012 20.15 CET (ProSieben)
02.02.2012 20.15 CET (ProSieben)
06.02.2012 20.15 CET (ProSieben)

09.02.2012 20.15 CET quarter final (ARD)
13.02.2012 20.15 CET semi final (ProSieben)
16.02.2012 20.15 CET final (ARD)

As a member of the Big Five Germany is already qualified for the final on May 26th, 2012.

Source: NDR
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!