Georgian Songs are Online

After a year’s absence, Georgia returns to the Eurovision Song Contest this year. Sopho Nizharadze will be representing her country at the contest due to Georgian GPB’s choice and the competing song for its national final are available online.

Georgia, who joined the Eurovision Song Contest in 2007 for the first time, had resigned from the contest just for a year after being in a war with Russia. Georgian national broadcaster GPB has already announced that they will be taking part at the contest again this year.

According to GPB, Sopho Nizharadze will be representing her country at the contest and the concept of the national final will be televoting after Sopho performed 5 chosen song by an expert jury. Those songs confirmed as:

1. Never Give In: Composed by Tina Japaridze, Ben Robbins and Billy Livsey. Tina Japaridze co-wrote the 2009 Icelandic entry Is it true?

2.Call Me: Written by Brandon Stone (Besik Shpetishvili).

3.Our world: Lyricist and Composer is Mikheil Mdinaradze.

4. Sing my song: Composed by Svika Pick, the man behind Diva, 1998 Eurovision winner, performed by Dana International; Light a candle for Sarit Hadad, who represented Israel in Eurovision 2002, and the Ukrainian entry in 2003 Hasta la vista.

5. For eternity: Composed by the well-known team of Carlos Coelho and Andrej Babic. Andrej composed 5 Eurovision songs for 4 different countries (Portugal 2008, Croatia 2003, Bosnia & Herzegovina 2005, Slovenia 2007 and 2009) and Carlos Coelho wrote the 2008 Portuguese entry.

5. Shine: Written by Hanne Sorvaag from Norway, Harry Sommerdahl from Sweden and Chistian Leuzzi. Hanne is also one of the composers behind the 2010 Norwegian entry My Heart is Yours as well as she co-wrote the German entry Disappear from 2008.

The national final will take place on 27 February and the show will be also broadcasted by GPB channel. The competing songs are also online and they can be found by clicking here. Georgia will be performing on second semi-final of the contest which will be held on 27th May in Oslo’s Telenor Arena. 

Source: EuroVisionary,,
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!