Austria gives details of the finalists for “Österreich rockt den Contest”

Austrian broadcaster ORF announced more details of the National Final, due to take place on 24 February in Vienna.  Ten acts have been selected, and nine of their songs are now in the pulic domain.  Trackshittaz are back for a second attempt, again performing a song in an Austrian dialect.

ORF’s radio station Ö3 today revealed nine of the ten acts competing for the ticket to the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest in Baku.  While we know the tenth act’s name, Blockstars, their song will be revealed on 3 February.  The ten acts are:

BlockstarsTo be announced
James Cottriall – Stand up
Krautschädl – Einsturzgefohr
Papermoon – Vater, Father, Mon père
Norbert Schneider – Medicate my blues away
Trackshittaz – Woki mit deim Popo
Valerie – Comme ça
Conchita Wurst – That’s what I am
Mary Broadcast Band – How can you ask me?
After Nadine Beiler making the Saturday night final of the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest, Austria are a welcome addition to the line-up in Baku.  They will perform in one of the semi-finals on either 22 May or 24 May.


Link to the nine songs revealed so far
Österreich rockt den Eurovision (in German)

Source: Eurovisionary, ORF
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!