6 Dutch participants for national final on the 26th of February announced

Today Dutch broadcaster, TROS, announced the 6 participants that will be competing for the honour of representing the Netherlands at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. 

As the Netherlands have failed qualifying for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest the past 7 years pressure is high on whoever wins this year’s Dutch final that will be held on the 26th of February. 

In order to spice things up a bit the country, who have tried various formats for their national selection, has hired John De Mol to be in charge of their selection this year. Whether or not things will be totally renewed is still to see as more details will be made public later.

The 6 participants that will fight in the national selection are:

1. Chocolatte

Artist: Raffaëla Paton

Music & Lyrics: Jan Rooymans, Chris Silos

2. You And Me

Artist: Joan Franka

Music & Lyrics: Joan Franka & Jessica Hogeboom

3. Take Me As I Am

Artist: Iva Peroti

Music & Lyrics: Alain Clark, Steve Diamond, Ben Caver

4. We Can Overcome

Artist: Pearl Jozefzoon

Music & Lyrics: Gordon Groothedde

5. Undercover Lover

Artist: Tim Douwsma

Music & Lyrics: Bruce R.F. Smith, Michel van der Zanden

6. Children Of The World

Aritst: Kim de Boer

Music & Lyrics: Martijn Schimmer 

Last year 3JS represented the Netherlands with the song Never Alone. You can see the video of that song below and judge for yourself if it was rightful that they came last in their semi-final with only 13 points.

Source: Eurovision.tv, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!