20 Candidate Songs To Represent Spain

RTVE had made public the titles of the 20 songs aiming to represent Spain this year in Düsseldorf shortlisted by an expert committee. Spanish and foreign composers, well-known faces to Eurofans, have applied with their entries.

After receiving more than 1,000 submissions, RTVE has finally revealed the song titles that have reached the final selection of Destino Eurovisión.

Among the names in the list published we can find Rafael Artesero, a classic of Spanish selections who is back this year with three songs: Only Break My Heart?, Teasing You and Weeping For You. He composed La Reina De La Noche in 2007 and he was responsible for the 2005 and 2006 Andorran entries with La Mirada Interior and Sense Tu.

Jesús Cañadilla and Alejandro de Pinedo, the composers of Algo Pequeñito, last year’s Spanish entry, applies this year with a couple of songs: Eos and Eres Tan Cool.

Another classic tandem for Spanish national finals is formed by Antonio Sánchez-Ohlsson and Thomas G:Son, authors of I Love You Mi Vida, who represented Spain in 2007 and Todo Está En Tu Mente and En Una Vida, both of them sung by Coral Segovia in 2008 and 2010 national semi-finals or Nada Es Comparable A Ti, performed by Mirela in 2009. This year, they have qualified with one song: Abrázate A Mi Corazón.

Mikel Herzog, 1998 Spanish representative with Qué Voy A Hacer Si Ti, participates with the song Eres Todo Lo que Quiero, composed and written by himself.

Sueño Y Sueñas has been composed by Amaya Martínez, who was the author of the 2003 Spanish entry Dime, performed by Beth and we also find William Luque, a Spanish-Venezuelan composer, author of the hits of Chenoa, D’Nash, María Isabel, Beth, Davinia and Yanira Figueroa.

This year’s Spanish selection is more international than ever and we find authors like Jonas Gladnikoff, responsible for Et Cetera, the song that represented Ireland in 2009 or Camila Gottschaalch and Christina Schilling, authors of It’s For You, sung by Niamh Kavanagh in Oslo.

The list of the songs to compete in the 2011 Spanish selection is as follows:

  1. Abrázate A Mi Corazón – Music and lyrics: Antonio Sánchez-Ohlsson and Thomas G:Son.
  2. Away – Music and lyrics: Primoz Poglajen, Jonas Gladnikoff, Camilla Gottschalck and Christina Schiling.
  3. Backwards learning – Music and lyrics: Jonas Gladnikoff, Camilla Gottschlack and Christina Schilling.
  4. C’est la vie! It’s alright! – Music and lyrics: W&M, Nestor Geli, Susie Päivärinta, Per Andersson and Mats Lindberg.
  5. Diamonds – Music and lyrics: Nestor Geli, Susie Päivärinta, Pär Lönn.
  6. Evangeline – Music: Kjell Jennstig and Dejan Belgrenius. Lyrics: Kristin Molin. 
  7. Eos – Music and lyrics: Jesús Cañadilla and Alejandro de Pinedo.
  8. Eres Tan Cool – Music and lyrics: Jesús Cañadilla and Alejandro de Pinedo.
  9. Eres Todo Lo Que Quiero – Music: Mikel Herzog and Alberto Estébanez. Lyrics: Mikel Herzog.
  10. Golden Cadillac – Music: Kjell Jennstig. Lyrics: Gerard James Borg and Leif Goldkuhl.
  11. Llueve – Music and lyrics: Juan Guillén.
  12. Música – Music and lyrics: Vanessa Serrano.
  13. Only Break My Heart? – Music and lyrics: Rafael Artesero Herrero.
  14. Peligroso – Music: Domingo Sánchez. Lyrics: William Luque.
  15. Sospechas – Music: Gustavo Castañeda and Yapci Cruz. Lyrics: Yolanda Ortiz.
  16. Sueño Y Sueñas – Music: Pedro Romeo. Lyrics: Amaya Martínez.
  17. Teasing You – Music and lyrics: Rafael Artesero Herrero.
  18. The Sun Will Shine – Music and lyrics: Rafael de Alba.
  19. Tic, Tac – Music and lyrics: Rocío Romero Grau.
  20. Weeping for joy – Music and lyrics: Rafael Artesero Herrero.

The first semi-final of the 2011 Spanish selection will take place on January 28th in Barcelona.

Source: RTVE, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!