Eurostream 2020: Fans and jury selected the first 10 finalists

The 17 acts in the first semi-final have now been reduced to 10. A combination of online voting and a professional jury found the acts that continue to Saturday’s final. Top favourites like Russia’s Little Big and The Roop from Lithuania joins 8 other lucky qualifiers.

Eurostream is a joined project between 20 Eurovision media. It was formed as the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest was cancelled. While it can’t replace an actual contest, it can give us some kind of relief, a big online voting and juries deciding together.

The online voting started earlier today, at 12:00 CET noon, just as the jury had voted beforehand. For legal reasons, only 45 seconds of each song was shown in the broadcast this evening from 21:00 CET.

Semi-final 1 qualifiers

Congratulations to the ten acts that continue to the final on Saturday. They are the ones representing:

  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • Russia
  • Israel
  • Norway
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium

Several Eurovision participants as jury member

It hadn’t been possible to find jury members in Israel, Latvia and Russia. The jury result for these countries was aggregated based on neighbouring countries. In the other countries however, we find many former Eurovision Song Contest participants as well as national finalists. They joined the likes of spokespersons, composers, radio hosts, commentators etc. We list here the former Eurovision participants and national finalists who are to be found as jury members for the Eurostream 2020 project.

  • Kejsi Tola (Albania 2009)
  • Cesar Sampson (Austria 2018)
  • Eldar Gasimov (Azerbaijan 2011)
  • Arytom Lukyanenko (Belarus 2017 as part of Naviband)
  • Georgi Simeonov (Bulgaria 2018 as part of Equinox)
  • Joanna Dragneva (Bulgaria 2018 as part of Equinox)
  • Zhana Bergendorff (Bulgaria 2018 as part of Equinox)
  • Bojan Jambrošić (Croatia 2020 national final participant)
  • Pamela Ramljak (Croatia – Bosnia & Herzegovina 2005 and Croatia 2010 as part of Feminnem)
  • Andreas Kapatais (Cyprus 2016 as part of Minus One)
  • Chris Ioannidis (Cyprus 2016 as part of Minus One)
  • Constantinos Amerikanos (Cyprus 2016 as part of Minus One)
  • Bryan Rice (Denmark national finalist is 201o and 2014)
  • Jonas Rasmussen (Denmark 2018)
  • Julie Berthelsen (Denmark 2019 national final participant)
  • Jüri Pootsmann (Estonia 2016)
  • Amaury Vassili (France 2011)
  • Madame Monsieur (France 2018)
  • Mariam Mamadashvili (Georgia 2016 Junior Eurovision winner)
  • Benedikt Brynleifsson (Iceland 2011 as part of Sjonni’s Friends)
  • Helga Möller (Iceland 1986 as part of ICY)
  • Vincenzo Cantiello (Italy 2014 Junior Eurovision winner)
  • Jurgis Brūzga (Lithuania national final participant in 2018 and 2019)
  • Glen Vella (Malta 2011)
  • Geta Burlacu (Moldova 2008)
  • Petronela Donciu (Moldova 2020 national final participant)
  • Viorela Moraru (Moldova 2020 national final participant)
  • Alexandra Rotan (Norway 2019 as part of KEiiNO)
  • Liza Vassilieva (Norway 2020 national final participant)
  • Ricardo Soler (Portugal national final participant in 2008 and 2012)
  • Ovi Jacobsen (Romania 2010 and 2014)
  • Paula Seling (Romania 2010 and 2014)
  • Bojana Stamenov (Serbia 2015)
  • Zalagasper (Slovenia 2019) 
  • Ainhoa Cantalapiedra (Spain national final participant in 2003 and 2010)
  • Sofia Rol (Ukraine 2016 Junior Eurovision participant)
  • Jake Shakeshaft (United Kingdom 2016)
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!