First Details of the Icelandic Selections Emerge

State broadcaster RÚV have published the names of the composers whose entries have made the final shortlist of the entries that are to compete in the 2011 edition of Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins.

A total of 174 submitted entries were eventually whittled down to a remaining shortlist of 15 entries by a jury. Icelandic daily DV informs it’s readers that the selection process is now complete and that the following composers who made the grade for next year’s competition are as follows: Albert Guðmann Jónsson, Arnar Ástráðsson, Hallgrímur Óskarsson, Haraldur Reynisson, Ingvi Þór Kormáksson, Jakob Jóhannsson, Jógvan Hansen and Vignir Snær Vigfússon, Jóhannes Kári Kristinsson, María Björk Sverrisdóttir, Matthías Stefánsson, Orri Harðarson, Tómas Hermannsson, Pétur Örn Guðmundsson, Ragnar Hermannsson and Sigurjón Brink.

Most names are unknown to the international public, although Eurovision enthusiasts will no doubt recognise some names. Sigurjón Brink has previously taken part both as a composer and performer, most recently against Hera Björk last year. Jógvan Hansen was more succesful in his attempt, making it to the national final and coming in a respectable 4th place. Vignir Snær was one of the composers who penned Selma‘s entry from 1995, If I Had Your Love and Hallgrímur Óskarsson was the man behind Birgitta‘s entry from 2003, Open Your Heart.

The format used in this years contest will probably be repeated in next year’s edition of Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins, culminating in a grand final to be broadcast live from RÚV television studios on February 12th. Further details of the chosen submissions are expected to be made public in early January


Link to RÚV’s official Söngvakeppni website

Source: DV,, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!