Comeback for DQ and Anne Herdorff

The deadline to enter a song to the 2009 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix ended yesterday with 684 songs submitted. Four out of ten songs will be specially invited and rumours are indicating comebacks to Anne Herdoff and DQ.

Simon Mathew qualified for the final and ended 15th in Belgrade with his All Nigh Long. Despite the fact that many were surprised to see the Danish entry in the final, Danish broadcaster DR want to see better results. To achieve this they have decided to specially invite 4 artists for the Danish final. Only 6 of the 10 songs will therefore be picked from this group of 684 songs that were sent in through the open selection. And just as at the Eurovision Song Contest will re-introduce the juries, DR are doing the same for their national final.

There are not yet any names officially mentioned as jury or participants, but rumours are saying that Anne Herdoff, who represented Denmark in 1987, should be among the four names specially invited. Denmark’s Drama queen DQ who represented in 2006 is another one who is mentioned to be up for a comeback. It has also been mentioned that the duo Sussi and Leo have submitted a song. It is a duo that is known for having absolutely no musical skills, but they are highly popular at bars where people like that they don’t take themselves too seriously and that they never claim to be any good.

Source: DR, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!