Big disagreement between Danish jury and TV viewers

Danish broadcaster, DR, has today published the Danish jury result, which shows a clear difference between the jury and the TV viewers. The jury didn’t like Russia and Iceland, but prefered countries like Moldova and Israel. Both parts do agree on Sweden and Germany though. 

The Danish jury consisted of Birthe Kjær, who represented Denmark at the 1989 Eurovision Song Contest coming third with the song Vi Maler Byen Rød, Aya who participated in this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix singing Best Thing I Got, Bryan Rice, singer who came second in the Danish final in 2012 with Breathing, producer Kenneth Bager and drummer in rock band DAD, Laust Sonne

In the first semi-final, where Denmark participated and voted in, the jury awarded 12 points for Moldova and 10 for Israell. None of them were however particular popular among the TV viewers as Moldova’s combined points ended up being 6 and in Israel’s case only 3. The TV viewers instead gave their points to Russia and Island, the last country got no points from the jury where Russia only got 3 points.

In the final the TV viewers and the jury did agree on Sweden and Germany getting the top points from Denmark and suddenly Russia did get 6 points from the jury, but they also gave points to Cyprus, Greece and Spain. All three countries got nothing from Denmark in the combinded result, which makes it clear that they didn’t get anything from the TV viewers. It is however due to the TV viewers that Iceland and Ireland got points from Denmark as the jury didn’t have none of them in their top 10.

The Danish jury and combined result for the final:

Points  Jury  Combined jury and televoting 
12 Sweden  Sweden 
10  Germany  Germany 
Moldova  Russia 
Albania  Moldova 
Russia  Iceland
Cyprus  Albania 
Italy  Ireland 
Spain  Italy 
2 Romania  Turkey 
Greece  Romania 

The Danish jury and combined result for the first semi-final: 

Points  Jury   Combined jury and televoting 
12  Moldova  Russia 
10  Israel  Iceland 
Albania  Finland 
Greece  Albania 
Hungary  Moldova 
Finland  Hungary 
Cyprus  Greece 
Russia  Israel 
Austria  Ireland 
Ireland  Romania 
Source: DR, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!