12 countries confirmed for Junior Eurovision – Azerbaijan take part for first time

The final line up of countries for the 2012 Junior Eurovision Song Contest has been revealed.  This year there will be 12 countries participating.  Azerbaijan will now take part for the first time as well as first appearances by Albania and Israel.

2012 will be the 10th year of the Junior Eurovision.  It will take place in Amsterdam on 1 December 2012 at the HMH Arena.

The 12 participating countries and broadcasters are –

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • The Netherlands (AVRO)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • Sietse Bakker, the Supervisor of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest said "We are very glad to see new countries joining the 10th anniversary and also happy to have a lot of them returning. At the EBU, we are determined to steer this event through difficult economic times, and the support of these broadcasters is crucial for the contest’s sustainable future."

    The Netherlands broadcaster, AVRO, will organise this year’s contest.

    Source: www.junioreurovision.tv
    Read more in the news archive

    Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!