Line up for first Azeri elimination round revealed

Azeri broadcaster Ictimai Televiziya (ITV) has published the first 11 names of the in all 77 artists and acts that have been selected from over 100 submitted entries, all trying for the chance to become Safura’s successor in Düsseldorf next year.

Following Azerbaijan’s solid results the last three years, interest for the Eurovision Song Contest shows no sign of diminishing in the land of fire. According to the broadcaster, the selection process will commence on the 15th of November based on a format similar to that of the popular TV show Britain’s Got Talent.

The first elimination round will take place from the 15th until the 19th of November, whereby a combined jury and audience vote will decide which act or artist will qualify. The same process will be repeated each week, with a total of seven rounds, culminating in 7 acts or artists goingon to the Azeri final, to be broadcast on the 2nd of February.

These are the first 11 names to be confirmed:

Chingiz Mustafaev
Aygun Ismayilova
Ulviyya Abbasova
Zulfunaz Rejebova
Xana Hasanova
Nurana Alesgerova
Adil Bakhishli
Tarik Yigit
Gulchohre Babaeva
Tofig Haciev

Stay tuned to follow developments in the Azeri process and the next 11 names to participate in the second round which will take place from the 22nd until the 26th November.

Source:, Ictimai Televiziya, EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!