Eurovision 2014: Allocation draw result

Today the traditional allocation draw was held in order to determine which countries will compete in which semi-final. In other words: It is time to start analysing and guessing on who will in the end qualify for the final and who might not make it.

Before today’s draw we already knew that Israel had been placed in semi-final together with Norway. For ticketsale reasons Sweden had been put in the first semi-final to seperate them from Norway. Last year where the contest was held in Sweden it was Denmark and Norway who beforehand had been seperated into each their semi.

The six pots from where the countries will be drawn from was announced last week. These are made up based on voting patterns the past 10 years.

With Denmark being host country they are automatically qualified for the final, together with the socalled big5 countries; United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, France and Italy. With all those information settled it was time to start today’s draw.

The semi-final countries were drawn first into a semi-final and after that into either first or second half of that semi. The specific starting position will be decided by the producers together with EBU as was introduced last year.

First half first semi  Second half first semi  First half second semi  Second half second semi 
Sweden  Belgium  Norway  FYR Macedonia 
Albania  Hungary  Israel  Finland 
Iceland  Moldova  Georgia  Ireland 
Russia  Montenegro  Austria  Romania 
Latvia  San Marino  Lithuania  Slovenia 
Azerbaijan  Portugal  Poland  Belarus 
Armenia  Ukraine  Malta  Greece 
Estonia The Nerherlands    Switzerland 

The show was hosted by the two DR hosts; Tine Gøtzsche and Ulla Essendrop. As usual the first and second half was drawn by giving the countries either a red or a green note just like last year. As green light is something good, and red is bad, it matches with the countries prefering the second half.

Spain was drawn to vote in the first semi-final together with France and Denmark.

NRD, German broadcaster, had asked and was allowed to vote in the second semi-final. So will Italy and United Kingdom be doing.  

Source: EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!