2nd heat of Azeri Milli Seçim has started – Two shows have already been broadcasted

Host country Azerbaijan goes non-stop on their national final Milli Seçim Turu 2012 with the second heat, which will continue for this week. Nine participants will compete to follow Orhan Kerimli into the final. The two out of five shows has already been held by the broadcaster, İçtimai TV.

After the first heat’s winner was known, the selections named Milli Seçim Turu carries on with the same format this week. As it was in the first heat, the second heat will continue for 5 days and another nine participants will be fighting to be the winner of the week 2, which of course means heat two. The format will be follown as:

  • Monday: World Hits
  • Tuesday: Azeri Music
  • Wednesday: Eurovision Hits
  • Thursday: Performance Day
  • Friday: Participants’ Choice

The second heat in the selections were already kicked off Monday with the new participants, Rüfet Aliyev, Mihriban Sadıqova, Ferid Hasanov, İlham Hamidov, Hüseyn Abdullayev, Meryam Kerimova, Sehri Rahimova, group Live or Leave and Elvin Babazade. The shows were presented by Leyla Aliyeva and Hüsniye Maharramova as it was in last week. In the first show the contestants showed their skills on their favourite World Hit and their choices were:

  • Ferid Hasanov – Je T’aime (from Lara Fabian)
  • Mihriban Sadıqova – Can’t Figth the Moonlight (from Coyote Ugly)
  • Rüfet Aliyev – Ya Lyublyu Tebya Do Slyoz (from Aleksandr Serov)
  • İlham Hamidov – Luna (from Alessandro Safino)
  • Hüseyn Abdullayev – Wind of Change (from Scorpions’ )
  • Meryam Kerimova – I Will Always Love You (from Whitney Houston)
  • Sehri Rahimova – Beautiful (from Christina Aguilera)
  • Group Live or Leave – What I’ve Done (from Linkin’ Park)
  • Elvin Babazade  – Let’s Twist Again (from Chubby Checker)

The very first day in second heat resulted with the standing below:

  1. Rüfet Aliyev – 78 votes
  2. Meryem Kerimova – 62 votes
  3. Ferid Hasanov – 32 votes
  4. Ilham Hamidov – 24 votes
  5. Mihriban Sadıqova – 5 votes
  6. Live or Leave – 4 votes
  7. Sehri Rahimova – 2 votes
  8. Elvin Babazade – 1 votes

Tuesday evening the second heat continued with the Day 2 performances and the same participants from Monday threw themselves into their own country’s musical taste and tried to grab their precious votes before friday:

  • Ferid Hasanov – Ayrıldık
  • Mihriban Sadıqova – Senden Nigaranam
  • Rüfet Aliyev – Azerbaycan
  • İlham Hamidov – Azerbaycan
  • Hüseyn Abdullayev –  Sen Nece de Güzelsen
  • Meryam Kerimova – Bu Gece
  • Sehri Rahimova –  Hayeller
  • Group Live or Leave – Farklı Zamanda
  • Elvin Babazade  – Parlak Geçen Günlerimiz

The show will be continued tonight with the Eurovision Hits. The show will begin at 18.00 CET (at 21.00 local time) and will of course be broadcasted by the official broadcaster İçtimai TV via web and satellite.

Source: EuroVisionary
Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!