Eurovision 2019: Running order for semi-finals revealed

Cyprus kicks off the first semi-final while Armenia is first to take the stage in the second semi-final. Today, the actual running order for the two semi-finals were revealed.

Back in late January, the allocation draw took place. Via a draw, 36 semi-finalists were placed in one of the two semi-finals and also in either first or second half. Ukraine later withdrew leaving the first semi-final with just 17 participants.

The actual running order for the two semi-finals were to be made by the producers in collaboration with the European Broadcasting Union, and today, their work was revealed. The producers made the list after each delegation submitted their stage plans. Based on that and with the respect of the draw – the running order was created based on what gives the best TV show.

Semi-final 1

The first semi-final takes place on the 14th of May. Voting in this semi-final are the 17 participating countries plus Spain, France and Israel.

1. Cyprus
2. Montenegro
3. Finland
4. Poland
5. Slovenia
6. Czech Republic
7. Hungary
8. Belarus
9. Serbia
10. Belgium
11. Georgia
12. Australia
13. Iceland
14. Estonia
15. Portugal
16. Greece
17. San Marino

Semi-final 2

The second semi-final takes places on the 16th of May. Voting in this semi-final are the 18 participating countries plus Germany, Italy and United Kingdom.

1. Armenia
2. Ireland
3. Moldova
4. Switzerland
5. Latvia
6. Romania
7. Denmark
8. Sweden
9. Austria
10. Croatia
11. Malta
12. Lithuania
13. Russia
14. Albania
15. Norway
16. The Netherlands
17. North Macedonia
18. Azerbaijan

Grand final

The final will take place on the 18th of May. The so-called big 5 (Spain, France, Italy, Germany and United Kingdom) as well as host country will step into the contest at this stage. They will be joined by 20 qualifiers, ten from each of the two semi-finals. All 41 countries taking part this year will vote in the final.

This year’s host country Israel have already be drawn into start position 14 for the final. At the press conference following each semi-final, the lucky qualifiers will be placed in either first or second half of the semi-final. In the hours after the second semi-final, the producers will work on the actual running order for the final. Once approved by the EBU, it will be released.

Read more in the news archive

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!

Wordpress Popup Plugin Free